State Required Assessments



  • Students are required to take 5 STAAR EOC (End of Course) exams and meet the satisfactory level of achievement on each exam in order to meet the state requirements for graduation. The number of exams was lowered from 15 to 5 in June 2013 with the passing of House Bill 5. Students may continue to take the STAAR EOC until they meet the passing standard.

    The five STAAR EOC exams are listed below:

    Algebra I
    English I
    English II
    U.S. History


  • TEA designed the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) and TELPAS Alternate to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students, also referred to as English learners (ELs), make in learning the English language. To view all English learner (EL) resources, visit the EL webpage.

    TELPAS Alternate